Luso-Brazilian Musics at the End of the Old Regime: Repertories, Practices and Representations

International Colloquium
Lisbon, 7-9 June 2008

Scientific Committee: Elizabeth Lucas and Rui Vieira Nery

Organization: Music Department of Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian in collaboration with the Instituto de Etnomusicologia - Centro de Estudos de Música e Dança

images Programa do Colóquio

This Colloquium is a follow-up of a similar initiative promoted by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in 2000, resulting in a book of collected articles entitled A Música no Brasil Colonial (Lisbon: Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian, 2001), which has become an important reference on the this theme. The 200th anniversary celebrations of the arrival of the Portuguese Royal Family to Rio de Janeiro in 1808, with its crucial impact on the evolution of luso-brasilian cultural and artistic practices on both sides of the Atlantic, will constitute a point of departure for a three day international colloquium that aims at presenting the results of recent research, discussing new theoretical and methodological perspectives and developing new and more effective mechanisms communication and scientific interchange between Portuguese and Brazilian scholars dedicated to the study of a fundamental period in both countries musical history.

Several scholars will participate in the Colloquium, namely: 
Elizabeth Lucas (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul), Rogério Budasz (Universidade Federal do Paraná), Pablo Sotuyo Blanco (Universidade Federal da Bahia), Marcelo Campos Hazan (Brazilian Researcher), André Guerra Cotta (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais), Paulo Castagna (Universidade do Estado de São Paulo), Diósnio Machado Neto (Universidade de São Paulo), Ricardo Bernardes (University of Texas), Lucas Robatto (Universidade Federal da Bahia), Márcio Páscoa (Brasilian Researcher), Luiz Alves da Silva (Co- Artistic Director of the Ensemble Turicum), Alberto Pacheco (Post doctoral scholar, Universidade Nova de Lisboa), Luciane Beduschi (Brasilian Researcher), Luísa Cymbron (Universidade Nova de Lisboa), António Jorge Marques (Universidade Nova de Lisboa), Manuel Morais (Universidade de Évora), Cristina Fernandes (Universidade de Évora), Vanda de Sá (Universidade de Évora), Elisa Lessa (Universidade do Minho), David Cranmer (Universidade Nova de Lisboa), Rui Vieira Nery (Universidade de Évora)

logo_FCSH_UNL logoUA logoFMH